Ponce JACQUIO (vraisemblablement Rethel, vers 1515 - Paris, 1570)

Lot 159
Aller au lot
Result without fees
Result : 1 150 000EUR

Ponce JACQUIO (vraisemblablement Rethel, vers 1515 - Paris, 1570)

The thorn shooter
Large bronze statuette with a varnished medal patina, depicting an undressed young woman removing a thorn from her foot.
Italy, 16th century.
(Small scratches, small cast iron defect, filing under the right knee).
Height: 25 cm - Width: 22,10 cm - Depth: 11,9 cm
On a black molded marble base. Estimate on request

Ponce Jacquio, known as "Master Ponce", is the only French sculptor cited, under the name of Ponzio, by the historian Vasari in the 16th century. Probably born in Rethel around 1515, he trained in Italy as a sculptor and stucco artist, where he was a member of the Company of Saint Luke in Rome. He worked there between 1553 and 1556 for Cardinal Giovanni Ricci in Palazzo Sacchetti. Returning to France, he was a collaborator of Androuet du Cerceau, Germain Pilon and Primatice, with whom he worked for Fontainebleau, the Tuileries and the tombs of François I, Henri II and Catherine de Medici in Saint-Denis. He also responded to private commissions such as for the Hotel de Rocquencourt, for the Château de Meudon of the Cardinal of Lorraine, for the Count of Dammartin at the Château de Verneuil in 1560, for Parisian fountains and even for mantelpieces for fireplaces in 1562 and 1564.
In France, he lived in rue Montorgueil in Paris, in Montauban in 1566, then in a faubourg Saint-Marcel house near Les Gobelins bought in 1567, and finally in rue de la Grande Truanderie in Paris where he died in 1570.
Another bronze of the same subject but much smaller and of rather rustic workmanship, also dating from the Renaissance, acquired in 1910 from the Whitecombe Greene collection is kept in the Louvre Museum (OA 6416).
This is a rare statuette intended for an amateur cabinet, a widespread fashion in Italy from the 16th century onwards. The novelty is that the female cannon becomes more realistic, less slender and quasi-erotic.
It can be contemplated from all sides. The kinship with John of Bologna's
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Ponce JACQUIO (vraisemblablement Rethel, vers 1515 - Paris, 1570)

Lot 159
Aller au lot
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 1 150 000EUR

Ponce JACQUIO (vraisemblablement Rethel, vers 1515 - Paris, 1570)

La tireuse d'épine
Grande statuette en bronze à patine médaille vernie, figurant une jeune femme dévêtue se retirant une épine du pied.
Italie, XVIe siècle.
(Petites éraflures, petit défaut de fonte, limage sous le genou droit).
Hauteur: 25 cm - Largeur: 22,10 cm - Profondeur: 11,9 cm
Sur un socle en marbre noir mouluré. Estimation sur demande

Ponce Jacquio, dit «Maitre Ponce», est le seul sculpteur français cité, sous le nom de Ponzio, par l'historien Vasari au XVIe siècle. Né probablement à Rethel vers 1515, il se forma en Italie, comme sculpteur et stucateur, où il fut membre de la Compagnie Saint-Luc à Rome. Il y travailla entre 1553 et 1556 pour le cardinal Giovanni Ricci au Palais Sacchetti. Retourné en France, il fut le collaborateur d'Androuet du Cerceau, de Germain Pilon et du Primatice avec lesquels il oeuvra notamment pour Fontainebleau, les Tuileries, le tombeau de François Ier, d'Henri II et de Catherine de Médicis à Saint-Denis. Il répondit également à des commandes privées comme pour l'Hotel de Rocquencourt, pour le château de Meudon du cardinal de Lorraine, pour le comte de Dammartin au château de Verneuil en 1560, pour des fontaines parisiennes et même pour des manteaux de cheminées en 1562 et 1564.
En France, il résida rue Montorgueil à Paris, à Montauban en 1566, puis dans une maison faubourg Saint-Marcel près des Gobelins achetée en 1567, et enfin rue de la Grande Truanderie à Paris où il décéda en 1570.
Un autre bronze du même sujet mais beaucoup plus petit et de facture assez rustique, datant également de la Renaissance, acquis en 1910 de la collection Whitecombe Greene est conservé au Musée du Louvre (OA 6416).
Il s'agit d'une rare statuette destinée à un cabinet d'amateur, mode répandue en Italie dès le XVIe siècle. La nouveauté est que le canon féminin devient plus réaliste, moins élancé et quasi-érotique.
Elle peut être contemplée de tous les côtés. La parenté avec les «Vénus au bain»
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue