RELIURE AUX ARMES DU CARDINAL DE RICHELIEU. - [SIRMOND (Jean)]

Lot .L20
Got to lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1200 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 3 000EUR
RELIURE AUX ARMES DU CARDINAL DE RICHELIEU. - [SIRMOND (Jean)]
The Man of the Pope and the King. Or, true repartees on the slanderous imputations of a defamatory libel, sown against His Holiness & His Very Christian Majesty, by the covered enemies of the Holy See & of France. In Brussels, s.n., 1634.
In-8, fawn morocco, spine with nerves cloisonné and fleurdelisé, fleurdelisé field framed with triple gilt fillet on the plates with gilt coat of arms in the centre, ornate cups, gilt edges, traces of fasteners on the plates, restored top cover and one corner (contemporary binding).
Edition published the same year as the original Parisian one.
VIF PAMPHLET IN DEFENCE OF THE PROTESTANT ALLIANCES OF FRANCE, PUBLISHED AT THE INSTITUTION OF THE CARDINAL OF RICHELIEU. In 1633 had appeared under the pseudonym Ludovico Zambeccari a venomous libel that attacked the foreign policy of France in the Thirty Years War, led by Cardinal
Richelieu with Huguenot allies, and vilified the conciliatory attitude of the Pope in this regard. This libellus, entitled Al Pío, al grande, al beatísimo papa Urbano VIII, was in fact due to Juan Antonio de Vera Zúñiga y
Figueroa, Count of La Roca, Spanish ambassador to Venice, also a writer and friend of Lope de Vega.
The Man of the Pope and the King, which answers point by point, was written by Jean Sirmond, one of Cardinal de Richelieu's feathers, and a member of the first French Academy. Despite an attribution to Bénigne
Milletot by Barbier, the name of Jean Sirmond is today generally retained.
The copy of Cardinal de Richelieu, bound in morocco with his arms (OHR, pl. 406, iron no. 1).
Provenance: Bernard de Noblet, Count of Chénelette, lieutenant of the Marshals of France at the bailiwick of
Mâcon (ex-libris armorial vignette on the first counterplate).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

RELIURE AUX ARMES DU CARDINAL DE RICHELIEU. - [SIRMOND (Jean)]

Lot .L20
Aller au lot
1 000 - 1 200 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

RELIURE AUX ARMES DU CARDINAL DE RICHELIEU. - [SIRMOND (Jean)]

L'Homme du pape et du roy. Ou, reparties veritables sur les imputations calomnieuses d'un libelle diffamatoire, semé contre Sa Saincteté & Sa Majesté très-chrestienne, par les ennemis couverts du Sainct-Siege & de la France. À Bruxelles, s.n., 1634.
In-8, maroquin fauve, dos à nerfs cloisonné et fleurdelisé, champ fleurdelisé encadré d'un triple filet doré sur les plats avec armoiries dorées au centre, coupes ornées, tranches dorées, traces d'attaches sur les plats, coiffe supérieure et un coin restaurés (reliure de l'époque).
Édition parue la même année que l'originale parisienne.
VIF PAMPHLET EN DÉFENSE DES ALLIANCES PROTESTANTES DE LA FRANCE, PUBLIÉ À L'INSTIGATION DU CARDINAL DE RICHELIEU. En 1633 avait paru sous le pseudonyme de Ludovico Zambeccari un libelle venimeux qui attaquait la politique étrangère de la France dans la guerre de Trente Ans, conduite par le cardinal de
Richelieu avec des alliés huguenots, et qui vilipendait l'attitude conciliante du pape à cet égard. Ce libelle, intitulé Al Pío, al grande, al beatísimo papa Urbano VIII, était en fait dû à Juan Antonio de Vera Zúñiga y
Figueroa, comte de La Roca, ambassadeur d'Espagne à Venise, par ailleurs écrivain et ami de Lope de Vega.
L'Homme du pape et du roy, qui y fait réponse point par point, fut écrit par Jean Sirmond, une des plumes du cardinal de Richelieu, et membre de la première Académie française. Malgré une attribution à Bénigne
Milletot par Barbier, le nom de Jean Sirmond est aujourd'hui généralement retenu.
L'exemplaire du cardinal de Richelieu, relié en maroquin à ses armes (OHR, pl. 406, fer n° 1).
Provenance : Bernard de Noblet, comte de Chénelette, lieutenant des maréchaux de France au bailliage de
Mâcon (vignette armoriée ex-libris sur le premier contreplat).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue