ROBERTO MATTA (1911-2002)

Lot 107
Got to lot
Estimation :
60000 - 80000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 65 000EUR
ROBERTO MATTA (1911-2002)
Untitled, 1957
Oil on canvas, signed and dated on the back.
114 x 146.5 cm
This work is accompanied by a certificate of authenticity from Madame Alisée Matta, dated 2 April 2021.
Matta's dizzying world is a gigantic melting pot in perpetual evolution, tumultuous, bubbling, elusive, chaotic, just like his mental universe.
To generate his sturbulent spaces Matta remains a fervent follower of the principle of "absolute automatism" put at the service of a delirious imagination. He constantly invents unsuspected spaces like an architect of the cosmos, which he populates with ectoplasmic creatures, lamelliform robots, humanoid couples, and organic interlacing.
This painter of the infra-worlds, demiurge of his own graphic improvisations, levitates stellar accretions, galaxy dust, interstellar deflagrations with hallucinatory robots, scaffolding of beams, solar panel outbursts, space cubes, meteorites or tentacular machines as never dreamed of before, both mechanical and carnal...
The colour, volatilized under the effect of an irradiant vaporization, is adorned in turn with sweet tones ranging from metallic blues to "schoking" pinks, from shades of absinthe to acidulous greens, unless the palette suddenly plunges into the abyssal pits where the craziest magnetic storms are born, swirling around ash greys, sooty blacks and underground fires disintegrated by sudden deflagrations...
For more than half a century, Roberto Matta has never ceased to stage worlds vibrating with threats that take shape, that love each other, that fall in love and that finally resemble us because these worlds concern us: we are caught up in this unbelievable plastic big-bang that is closer to a universal fission and to the war of the worlds than to a purely intellectual fiction. Matta is signing a new reality of the world, one in which sovereign utopia imposes its rules.
Paul Duchein, June 1999 (Matta, Françoise Tournié/Château de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, 1999)
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

ROBERTO MATTA (1911-2002)

Lot 107
Aller au lot
Estimation :
60000 - 80000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 65 000EUR
ROBERTO MATTA (1911-2002)
Sans titre, 1957
Huile sur toile, signée et datée au dos.
114 x 146,5 cm
Cette oeuvre est accompagnée d'un certificat d'authenticité de Madame Alisée Matta, en date du 2 avril 2021.
Le monde vertigineux de Matta est un gigantesque creuset en perpétuel devenir, tumultueux, bouillonnant, insaisissable, chaotique, à l'image de son univers mental.
Pour engendrer ses espace sturbulents Matta demeure un adepte fervent du principe de «l'automatisme absolu» mis au service d'une imagination délirante. Il invente sans cesse des espaces insoupçonnés tel un architecte du cosmos, qu'il peuple de créatures ectoplasmiques, de robots lamelliformes, de couples humanoïdes, d'enlacements organiques.
Ce peintre des inframondes, démiurge de ses propres improvisations graphiques met en lévitation des accrétions stellaires, des poussières de galaxies, des déflagrations intersidérales aux prises avec des robots hallucinants, des échafaudages de poutrelles, des éclosions de panneaux solaires, des éclatements de cubes spatiaux, des effleurements de météorites ou d'engins tentaculaires comme on n'en avait jamais rêvé avant lui, à la fois mécaniques et charnels...
La couleur volatilisée sous l'effet d'une vaporisation irradiante, se pare tour à tour de tonalités suaves allant des bleus métallisés aux roses «schoking», des nuances de l'absinthe aux verts acidulés, à moins que la palette ne plonge soudain dans les fosses abyssales où naissent les orages magnétiques les plus fous, tourbillonnant autour des gris de cendre, des noirs fuligineux et des feux souterrains désintégrés par des déflagrations soudaines...
Roberto Matta ne cesse depuis plus d'un demi-siècle de mettre en scène des mondes tout vibrants de menaces qui prennent corps, s'aimantent, s'éprennent et finalement nous ressemblent car ces mondes nous concernent : nous sommes pris dans cette invraissemblables big-bang plastiques plus proche d'une fission universelle et de la guerre des mondes que d'une fiction purement intellectuelle Matta signe une nouvelle réalité du monde, celle où l'utopie souveraine imposerait ses règles.
Paul Duchein, juin 1999 (Matta, Françoise Tournié/Château de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, 1999)
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue