Olga BOZNANSKA (1865-1940)

Lot 139
Got to lot
Estimation :
50000 - 70000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 75 000EUR
Olga BOZNANSKA (1865-1940)

Presumed portrait of Louis Libaude, 1904 (?)
Oil on board, signed and dated upper right (restorations).
108 x 80 cm
Exhibition:
- 1901, Berlin, probably Grosse Berliner Kunst-Austellung, n°165.
At the beginning of 1898, Olga Bozna?ska exhibited with her cousin, the engraver Daniel
Mordant (1853-1914), at Georges Thomas' (1842-1915), avenue Trudaine in Paris. She shows twenty-four works. The success of this exhibition decides her to settle permanently in Paris and she takes a studio in Montparnasse in autumn of the same year. Georges Thomas introduced her to Parisian collectors and made Bozna?ska one of the artists in his gallery. She painted at least two portraits of her dealer, one in 1899 and another when he was older. She also painted Mrs. Thomas, the wife of her dealer. Taking over the gallery of the man who was known as "Father Thomas", it is more than likely that Louis Libaude continued to exhibit Olga Bozna?ska and also commissioned two portraits from her, this striking portrait and the younger one reproduced on page 5.
Olga BOZNA?SKA (1865-1940)
Helena Olga Bozna?ska was the daughter of Adam Nowina Bozna?ski, a railway engineer, and the Frenchwoman Eugenie Mondan.
She began by studying drawing with Józef Siedlecki and Kazimierz Pochwalski. From 1886 to 1890, she studied at the private schools of Karl Kricheldorf and Wilhelm Dürr in
Munich, and from then on devoted herself to painting.
In 1894, she won a gold medal in Vienna.
In 1896 or 1898, she moved to Paris where she began to exhibit at the Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, becoming a member in 1904. She taught painting at the Colarossi Academy as well as at the Académie de la Grande Chaumière and the Académie Vitti. In 1908 and 1921, she was awarded the prestigious Probus Barczewski Prize by the Academy of Sciences and Letters in Krakow.
Olga Bozna?ska was decorated with the Legion of Honour in 1912. In 1924, she was awarded the Officer's Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta and, a year later, the highest honourable mention at the Polish Portrait Exhibition at the Society
Zach?ta in Warsaw, which confirmed her exceptional talent as a portrait painter. In 1934, she was awarded the City of Warsaw Art Prize. Finally, a year before her death, she won the prize of honour at the exhibition Still Life in Polish Painting in Warsaw, followed by the Commander's Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.
Sources : Internet
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Olga BOZNANSKA (1865-1940)

Lot 139
Aller au lot
Estimation :
50000 - 70000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Olga BOZNANSKA (1865-1940)


Portrait présumé de Louis Libaude, 1904 (?)
Huile sur carton, signée et datée en haut à droite (Restaurations).
108 x 80 cm
Exposition :
- 1901, Berlin, vraisemblablement Grosse Berliner Kunst-Austellung, n°165.
Au début de 1898, Olga Bozna?ska expose grâce et avec son cousin, le graveur Daniel
Mordant (1853-1914), chez Georges Thomas (1842-1915), avenue Trudaine à Paris. Elle y montre vingt-quatre oeuvres. Le succès remporté lors de cette exposition la décide à se fixer définitivement à Paris et elle prend un atelier à Montparnasse en automne de cette même année. Georges Thomas l'introduit auprès des collectionneurs parisiens et fait de Bozna?ska l'une des artistes de sa galerie. Elle a peint au moins deux portraits de son marchand, un en 1899 et un autre quand il était plus âgé. Elle a également représenté Madame Thomas, la femme de son marchand. Reprenant la galerie de celui qui était connu comme le «Père Thomas», il est plus que probable que Louis Libaude ait continué d'exposer Olga Bozna?ska et lui ait commandé également deux portraits, ce saisissant portrait et celui, plus jeune reproduit page 5.
Olga BOZNA?SKA (1865-1940)
Helena Olga Bozna?ska est la fille d'Adam Nowina Bozna?ski, ingénieur des chemins de fer, et de la française Eugénie Mondan.
Elle commence par étudier le dessin auprès de Józef Siedlecki et Kazimierz Pochwalski. De 1886 à 1890, elle étudie dans les écoles privées de Karl Kricheldorf et de Wilhelm Dürr à
Munich, et va se consacrer dès lors à la peinture.
En 1894, elle obtient une médaille d'or à Vienne.
En 1896 ou 1898, elle s'installe à Paris où elle commence à exposer à la Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts dont elle devient sociétaire en 1904. Elle enseigne la peinture à l'Académie Colarossi ainsi qu'à l'Académie de la Grande Chaumière et à l'Académie Vitti. En 1908 et 1921, elle obtient le prestigieux prix Probus Barczewski de l'Académie des Sciences et des Lettres de Cracovie.
Olga Bozna?ska est décorée de la Légion d'honneur en 1912. En 1924, elle reçoit la Croix d'Officier de l'ordre de Polonia Restituta et, un an plus tard, la plus haute mention d'honneur à l'exposition du Portrait Polonais à la Société
Zach?ta à Varsovie qui conforte son exceptionnel talent de portraitiste. En 1934, elle obtient le prix artistique de la Ville de Varsovie. Enfin, un an avant sa mort, elle remporte le prix d'honneur à l'exposition Nature morte dans la peinture polonaise à Varsovie, suivi de la Croix de Commandeur de l'ordre de Polonia Restituta.
Sources : Internet
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue