Alfredo MULLER (1869-1939)

Lot 150
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 5 500EUR

Alfredo MULLER (1869-1939)


The Seine near Vernonnet, circa 1899-1901
Oil on canvas, with a trace of signature in the lower left corner. (Restorations).
60 x 73 cm
We would like to thank Mrs. Hélène Koehl, president of the association Les Amis d'Alfredo Müller, who kindly confirmed the authenticity of this work.
Alfredo MÜLLER (1869-1939)
Alfredo Müller was born in Livorno in 1869 and died in Paris in 1939.
His painting follows the meanderings of his life, alternately Tuscan and Parisian.
After studying under the Florentine portraitist Michele Gordigiani, he attended Carolus-Duran's studio in France and discovered Impressionism and Monet's painting, before getting to know Pissarro, Cézanne and Renoir.
A painter but also a renowned engraver, he exhibited at Ambroise Vollard's, and later at Georges Thomas', Louis Libaude's and Paul Rosenberg's. The paintings he exhibited on his return to Tuscany in 1890 retained the Impressionist lesson and provoked a violent controversy, with the older generation opposing the introduction of this French art. In the same year, the Livorno bank crash led to the ruin of Alfredo Müller's father.
In 1895, the family emigrated to Paris. He lives mainly in Montmartre, rubbing shoulders with
Erik Satie, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec and Jules Depaquit, and discovers Japanese engraving. In 1914, the war broke out while he was exhibiting at the Second Roman Secession. He waited in Florence to return to France, but his stay was prolonged. He settled in Settignano and painted a lot. In 1932, he returned to Paris.
Sources : Internet
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Alfredo MULLER (1869-1939)

Lot 150
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Alfredo MULLER (1869-1939)


La Seine aux environs de Vernonnet, vers 1899-1901
Huile sur toile, porte une trace de signature en bas à gauche. (Restaurations).
60 x 73 cm
Nous remercions Madame Hélène Koehl, présidente de l'association Les Amis d'Alfredo Müller, qui a aimablement confirmé l'authenticité de cette oeuvre.
Alfredo MÜLLER (1869-1939)
Alfredo Müller est né à Livourne en 1869 et mort à Paris en 1939.
Sa peinture suit les méandres de sa vie, alternativement toscane et parisienne.
Après avoir suivi l'enseignement du portraitiste florentin Michele Gordigiani, il fréquente en France l'atelier de Carolus-Duran et découvre l'impressionnisme et la peinture de Monet, avant de connaître Pissarro, Cézanne et Renoir.
Peintre mais aussi graveur réputé, il expose chez Ambroise Vollard, puis Georges Thomas, Louis Libaude et Paul Rosenberg. Les toiles qu'il expose à son retour en Toscane en 1890 ont retenu la leçon impressionniste et suscitent une violente controverse, l'ancienne génération s'opposant à l'introduction de cet art français. La même année, le krach de la banque de Livourne entraîne la ruine du père d'Alfredo Müller.
En 1895, la famille émigre à Paris. Il vit essentiellement à Montmartre, côtoyant
Erik Satie, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec ou Jules Depaquit, et découvre la gravure japonaise. En 1914, la guerre éclate alors qu'il expose à la seconde Sécession romaine. Il attend à Florence de pouvoir rentrer en France, mais son séjour se prolonge. Il s'installe à Settignano et peint beaucoup. En 1932, il rentre à Paris.
Sources : Internet
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue